Heroes of the Dorm

Heroes of the Dorm Collegiate Tournament Returns

For the second year in a row, Blizzard Entertainment is looking to pay college tuition for the top Heroes of the Storm players in North America. In April, Heroes of the Dorm participants will compete live on ESPN2 for a shot at the $500,000 prize pool.

Starting on January 28, eligible college students in North America can register for the Heroes of the Dorm collegiate championship. The championship prize will include 3 years of college tuition for the main roster and 1 year of tuition for substitute players. Furthermore, the top 4 teams will receive a custom gaming PC and the top 128 teams will unlock Tassadar in-game along with his Crypt King Skin.

“Last year’s Heroes of the Dorm was an amazing experience for the students playing and everyone watching, and we’re excited to again offer college athletes an epic opportunity to team up and compete for scholarships in 2016,” said Mike Morhaime, CEO and cofounder of Blizzard Entertainment. “It’s inspiring to see players from last year’s championship team, the UC Berkeley Golden Bears, now thriving in pro esports careers—we look forward to seeing how this year’s competitors shape the future of competitive gaming.”

Registration for Heroes of the Dorm concludes on February 18 and the tournament will last from March 19 to April 10.

Our Thoughts:

As a competitor in Heroes of the Dorm last year, I know firsthand how dedicated Blizzard is to its community and making eSports a success. Blizzard and TeSPA are offering not only a chance for students to pay their tuition but also an opportunity to become involved in eSports with minimal barriers.

Source: TeSPA

Related: , , , , ,

About Nick Shively

Nick is an eSports and RPG enthusiast. He can normally be found in the deepest parts of a dungeon or in the arena slaying opponents. Nick has been a gamer since an early age and involved in the industry since 2011. He obtained a degree in journalism from the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication in 2015.