Video Game Hall of Fame Finalists For 2016 Announced

After almost a year-long of nominations by the public, the finalists battling to be included in the World Video Game Hall of Fame for 2016 have been announced!

The final selections are made in cooperation with an international committee of journalists, scholars, and industry professionals familiar with video games and their role in society. The winners will be announced at a special ceremony at the Strong Museum in New York on May 5, then placed on permanent display in the museum alongside the first class.

video game hall of fame fimalists 2016

The complete list of finalists is as follows:

  • Elite
  • Final Fantasy
  • Grand Theft Auto III
  • John Madden Football
  • The Legend of Zelda
  • Minecraft
  • Nürburgring
  • The Oregon Trail
  • Pokémon Red and Green
  • Sid Meier’s Civilization
  • The Sims
  • Sonic the Hedgehog
  • Space Invaders
  • Street Fighter II
  • Tomb Raider


The World Video Game Hall of Fame is an international hall of fame that opened on June 4, 2015 and is located at The Strong Museum of Play in Rochester, NY. It recognizes individual electronic games of all types, be it arcade, console, computer, handheld, or mobile, that have enjoyed popularity over a sustained period and have exerted influence on the video game industry or on popular culture and society in general, according to their official website.

Video games become eligible for the World Video Game Hall of Fame by meeting four basic criteria:

  • Icon Status – is widely recognized and remembered
  • Longevity – is more than a passing fad and has enjoyed popularity over time
  • Geographical Reach – meets the above criteria across international boundaries
  • Influence – has exerted significant influence on the design and development of other games, on other forms of entertainment, or on popular culture and society in general

Our Thoughts:

While we are thrilled that Minecraft is among the nominees, we would of course like to see more MMOs included on the list in the long run. There are quite a few titles that made history in this genre, for instance EverQuest, Anarchy Online, Star Wars Galaxies, EVE Online. We hope that these major titles will also be nominated as they definitely deserve the recognition of being included in The Strong’s Hall of Fame. What title(s) would you nominate?

Source: National Museum of Play news

Related: , ,

About Ana Ch

Ana is a content manager with a hands-on approach regarding every aspect of the site’s various publications. She is an irredeemable laptop hugger, a World of Warcraft raid addict and, more recently, The Secret World combatant. Her passion for words is only matched by the incredible level of fangirl squeal that Blizzard provokes her. Usually found in a dark dungeon, by day or night alike.